Operational Plants
Operational Plants
Political map of Uttarakhand
Location of Plants & Projects of UJVNL


Small Hydro Power Projects (up to 25 MW)
Small Hydro Projects

Kaliganga-I (Installed Capacity : 2 x 2 MW)

Kaliganga-I (2 x 2 MW) Small Hydro Project

The Kaliganga-I Small Hydro Project is located on the river Kaliganga between the bridge over Kaliganga on Jaltala to Chilan road and Kotimaheshwari temple located just downstream of the confluence with river Mandaniganga. The project is located in the Ukhimath tehsil of Rudraprayag district of Uttarakhand. It is proposed to have an installed capacity of 4000 kW with two (02) units of 2000 kW each. The project has been conceived as a run of the river project without any storage.

The stream has a catchment area of 69.55 sq.km extending from a height of about 5000 meter above MSL up to trench weir located at an elevation of 1670.55 m near the village Jaltala just below the bridge on the Jaltala–Chillan bridle path.

The Power Plant to have two (02) turbine generating units each of 2000 kW output at generator terminals.

The levelized cost of generation is Rs 4.53 for 35 years considering discount factor of 10%. Benefit cost ratio and internal rate of return of the project are 1.03 & 10.39%, respectively.

Salient Features
Installed Capacity 2x2 MW
Location Near village Jaltala, Tehsil- Ukhimath, Dist-Rudraprayg
Commissioning Year July 2020
Size of Power house 27m x 15.10m x 11.50m
Water Conducting System Tunnel (399.5m) Power duct(93.5m) and Power channel(240.5m)
Power Channel Size Rectangular Width 2.1m,Total Depth 3.05 m
Design Discharge 3.45 cumecs
Design Head 165.46 m
Turbine Type Francis horizontal shaft
Turbine Output 2000 KW
Generator Type Synchronous salient pole type
Generator Output 2000 KW, 3.3 KV, 1000 rpm, 0.8 pf
Main Transformer 3MVA, 3.3 KV/ 33 KV
Switchyard 33 KV
Design Energy 26.18 MU

Galogi (Installed Capacity : 1 X 3 MW)

Galogi Power Plant (1 X 3= 3 MW)

Galogi Power Station is located 22km away from the state capital Dehradun. Galogihydel power station was among the earliest hydropower plants commissioned by the British in 1907. Three more plants were commissioned at the same time at Chamba in Himachal Pradesh, Darjeeling in West Bengal and Mysore in Karnataka. Galogi was the first hydel power station to generate electricity and light up houses on November 9, 1912. Some of these records go as far back as December 19, 1912. While the other three plants have stopped functioning long back, Galogi continues to be in service, nearly 106 years later. It still lights up homes in Mussoorie's Barlowganj and Doon valley's Anarwala area in district Dehradun.

Salient Features
Installed Capacity 1 X 3 MW
Location Village Bhatta & Galogi District Dehradun
Commissioning Year 1907
Water Conducting System Intake
Length of Penstock no. 1 1.25 Km
Length of Penstock no. 2 1.65 Km
Length of Penstock no. 3 1.45 Km
Design Discharge 1.36m3/s
Design Head 289 m
Turbine Type Pelton
Turbine Output 1600 HP
Generator Type Synchronous, Horizontal Setting
Main Transformer 1250 KVA, 0.4/6.6 kV
Switchyard 6.6 kV
Design Energy 6 MUs

Mohammadpur (Installed Capacity 3 X 3.1 MW)

Pathri (Installed Capacity 3 X 6.8 MW)

Dunao (Installed Capacity 2 X 750 KW)

Urgam (Installed Capacity 2X1500 KW)


Large Hydro Power Projects (beyond 25 MW)
Large Hydro Projects

Chibro (Installed Capacity : 4X60 MW)

Chibro Power Plant (4 X 60=240 MW)

Chibro HEP is a Run-of-River scheme with an underground Power Station. It was the first underground Power Station in North India and was commissioned in year 1975. The Power station draws water from Ichari dam located on the river Tons, one of the major tributary of river Yamuna.

Chibro Power station is a unique engineering marvel in the country and was the first experience in carrying out tunneling in Himalayan Thrust Zones, which was a challenge due to varied rock structure and throws up unexpected challenges in tunneling efforts. The water from Ichari Dam is fed into the Power station through a 6.2 Km long Head Race Tunnel (HRT). The Power Station comprising of 4 units of 60 MW each Francis turbines of 84,000 HP output, is housed in a rock cover with the major challenge of maintaining fresh air and safety measures due to constraint of space. Design head of HEP is 110m.

Salient Features
Installed Capacity 4X60 MW
Location Underground near Chibro Nala
Commissioning Year 1975
Size of Power House Cavity 113 mt. X 18.2 mt. X 32.5 mt.
Water Conducting System HRT
Tunnel Size 7m dia
Tunnel length 6220 m
Design Discharge 200 m3/s
Design Head 110 m
Turbine Type Francis
Turbine Output 84000 HP
Generator Type Umbrella
Generator Output 63 MVA
Main Transformer 69 MVA 11/230 KV
Switchyard 220 KV
Design Energy 750 MUS

Chilla (Installed Capacity : 4X36 MW)

Dhakrani (Installed Capacity : 3X11.25 MW)

Dhalipur (Installed Capacity : 3X17 MW)

Khatima (Installed Capacity : 3X13.8 MW)

Khodri (Installed Capacity : 4X30 MW)

Kulhal (Installed Capacity : 3X10 MW)

Maneri Bhali - I (Installed Capacity : 3X30 MW)

Maneri Bhali - II (Installed Capacity : 4X76 MW)

Ramganga (Installed Capacity : 3X66 MW)